San Diego County Fair announces summer concert lineup

0
6112

The San Diego County Fair has announced the lineup for its annual summer concert series, which this year will feature such big names as Patti LaBelle, Toby Keith, Darius Rucker, and Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.

Tickets for the marquee Toyota Summer Concert Series on the Heineken Grandstand Stage are going on sale to the public Saturday, March 18 at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and through Ticketmaster.

Seaside Courier readers are invited to a special advance sale at sdfair.com, using the password CACTUS. The advance sale starts at 10 a.m. today, Thursday, March 16, and runs through midnight, March 17.

Tickets for paid shows, dinner packages and reserved seats will be available at the Del Mar Fairgrounds’ O’Brien Gate Box Office from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Tuesdays through Saturdays and through Ticketmaster, or by calling 800-745-3000.

In addition to tickets for the Grandstand concert series, the O’Brien Gate Box Office will have fair admission and festival tickets for sale as well as Del Mar National Horse Show Saturday evening event individual seats and packages for sale.

Grandstand shows are free with fair admission on the third and fifth levels, and start at 7:30 p.m., unless otherwise noted. More information, including ticket prices can be found at sdfair.com. All free shows have a limited number of paid reserved seats.

The grandstand lineup:

Sunday, June 4: La Arrolladora Banda El Limón (paid floor)

Wednesday, June 7: Patti LaBelle (dinner package available)

Saturday, June 10: Toby Keith (paid)

Sunday, June 11: Banda MS (paid floor)

Friday, June 16: Darius Rucker (paid, dinner package available)

Saturday, June 17: Spirit West Coast (paid, (4 p.m. start)

Sunday, June 18: Grupo Intocable (paid floor)

Wednesday, June 21: Switchfoot

Thursday, June 22: Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons (dinner package available)

Saturday, June 24: Gospel Festival: Tasha Cobbs & Hezekiah Walker (7 p.m. start)

Sunday, June 25 Calibre 50 (paid floor)

Friday, June 30 Dan and Shay

Saturday, July 1 Jeff Foxworthy (paid, Dinner package available)

Sunday, July 2 Paquita la del Barrio (paid floor)

Tuesday, July 4 Anjelah Johnson

The San Diego Fair also will present the Paddock Concert Series, known for its intimate setting with festival seating. These concerts are free with admission to the fair and begin at 8 p.m.

The lineup:

Wednesday, June 7: The Yardbirds

Thursday, June 8: Aaron Tippin

Wednesday, June 14: Elvin Bishop and Charlie Musselwhite

Thursday, June 15: Sister Hazel

Wednesday, June 21: John Michael Montgomery

Thursday, June 22: Who’s Bad

Tuesday, June 27: Red Steagall and the Boys in the Bunkhouse

Thursday, June 29: Williams and Ree

Tuesday, July 4 Ivan and the Parazol

The theme of this year’s fair is “Where the West is Fun.” Special attractions this year that are tied in to this theme include a Wild West saloon, numerous Western-themed educational and historic exhibits and country music. The fair opens at 4 p.m. on Friday, June 2 and runs through Tuesday, July 4; it is closed the first four Mondays and the first three Tuesdays. The San Diego County Fair is the largest annual event in San Diego County and one of the top 10 fairs in the United States and Canada, drawing more than 1.6 million visitors annually. For more information visit sdfair.com.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here